The 7 Chakras

Updated: May 20, 2020

The human subtle body system is constituted of four subtle bodies - the Pran Shareer (Etheric Body), the Maan Shareer (Astral Body or Mind Body), the Gyan Shareer (Causal Body) and the AnandMay Shareer ( Super Causal Body or Bliss Sheath).

All the four subtle bodies have 7 primary energy meridians called the Chakras. These chakras are funnel shaped flowers with distinct petals. Each chakra has a certain number of petals, a corresponding element, a presiding god and goddess, an associated animal and an exclusive been mantra or cosmic sound thecae activate it. All chakras except the Mooladhar and Sahastrasaar, have their corresponding back chakras as well.

Every chakra is strategically located at the intersection of three main subtle veins of Ida, Pingla and Subhumana in the Pran Shareer or Energy Body. In physical terms, these chakras are laterally along the spinal cord.

The petals of every chakra are like micro-chips and are responsible for tapping the life force energy from the universe. Any blockage or disturbance in the flow of energy to the petals results in physical disease, relationship problems, poor quality of life and various other hurdles in life.

While there are thousands of smaller chakras spread throughout our body (such as in our palms), there are seven major ones, which are discussed here:

1. Muladhar is our foundation and our first chakra located at the base of the spine. It governs money, security, survival, and meeting our most basic life needs. It is red color corresponding to earth element and has 4 petals.

2. Svadhisthan is located above the pubic bone and below the navel. Its element is water and is soft orange in color.  Once we’re rooted in Muladhara, we open up in Svadhisthana. This is the seat of our sexuality and creativity, where we enjoy wellness, pleasure, and bask in our happiness and joy.

3. Manipur is located above the navel and in the solar plexus area. Its element is fire and color golden yellow. This is the seat of our power, self-confidence, and purpose. The element is fire, so it’s heavily related to our digestion and metabolism. Our solar plexus chakra is the seat of ideas, goals, and intentions. This is where we feel the intuition and “gut feeling.”

4. Anahat is located in our chest and is made of emerald green light. It is the exact center between the three chakras below (root, sacral, solar plexus) and the three chakras following above. It is also the heart center where we learn how to express love and receive that love back in our relationships with others, as well as with ourselves. 

5. Vishuddhi is located in our throat and is blue in color. Because this chakra governs the anatomy able to give us speech, it hence focuses on how we communicate with one another, and with ourselves. This is where our thoughts originate. Symbolically, it asks us to question whether our speech is truthful, necessary, or kind. 

6. Ajna is located between the eyebrows, deep into the head to the pituitary gland. It is brilliant indigo in color. It is our seat of intuition, and that “sixth sense” feeling we sometimes attribute to a hunch or a feeling. The third eye chakra also helps us envision our dreams and goals, as well as our creativity tit has a direct connection with Svadhisthan. This is where we receive guidance from the universe and hence is also called the guru chakra.

7. Sahatrasaar is the last major chakra in the system, and it rests at the crown of our head and bright golden light emanates from this chakra. It is the thousand-petal lotus that blooms and connects to universal consciousness. Sahastrasaara is the crowning jewel, to remind us that we are all ultimately one and connected to the same supreme universal or god consciousness. 

In the Cosmic Yog Chakra Empowerment Course, we will learn and use Mantras for purifying the chakras and empowerment and cleansing using the cosmic sounds developed by the Himalayan Yogis. We will do meditations to cleanse, purify, empower and protect the chakra system in order to purify our aura and enhance the quality of life.

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All